With the amendment of the Freedom of Information Act of 1974, the gradual publication of government agency documents began. Today, many thousands of scans of intelligence documents can be viewed in the CIA’s Electronic Reading Room. There are now over 2,400 entries for the search term Remote Viewing (released 1997–2017, status 12/2020), which show the development, research and application of the method as well as individual session protocols.

The US federal agencies, including the CIA and later the DIA, participated in the remote viewing project from 1972 to 1995. During this time, the activity of the small group was supported with a total of 20 million dollars, before the project was officially discontinued after more than 24 years with a rather flimsy reason. After that, many of the previously secret files were made publicly available. We assume that the application of the method will be continued in other secret service projects in the meantime – there is of course no official comment.

CRV | CIA document

Download PDF: Brief summary of the theory of “Coordinate Remote Viewing” (today CRV protocol) with the then usual explanation by the signal line theory.

© CIA Library | published 2000/08/08

Sun Streak | CIA document

Download PDF: Protocol of an Exemplary RV Session from the Stargate Project

© CIA Library | published 2000/08/08

Training procedure | CIA document

Download PDF: 1986 reported G. Scott Hubbard , Professor of Aeronautics at Stanford Research Institute, on the structure, concept and technology of the Remote Viewing Protocol.

© CIA Library | published 2000/08/10

Photon Production | CIA document

Download PDF: Experiments from 1985 to 1987 investigated the question of whether physically measurable photons are produced during the task process.

© CIA Library | published 2000/05/17

AIR Draft Reports | CIA document

Download PDF: The American Institute for Research (AIR) report provided the official reason to end the RV project in 1995. However, only 1% of the files at most were handed over for evaluation, and the rest remain under lock and key to this day. Interestingly, the report nevertheless finds that PSI is effective.

© CIA Library | published 1995/09/22

SRI | CIA document

Download PDF: Remote Viewing is not a one-way street – one of the most interesting areas of work in the “Grill Flame” project is the exploration of camouflage and counterintelligence at the PSI level.

© CIA Library | published 1998/06/18

Stargate | CIA document

Download PDF: Logs like these prove that the remote viewing unit (Project Stargate in this case) was indeed generously funded.

© CIA Library | published 2004/08/31

Project Sun Streak | CIA document

Download PDF: “Project Sun Streak” is one of the names under which remote viewing exploration has gone over the years. The presentation shows examples of the viewers’ work and concludes with the recommendation: “Establish Remote Viewing as a reliable Intelligence tool.”

© CIA Library | published 1998/10/14

center lane a historical overview

Download PDF: “Project Center Lane” is another name under which Remote Viewing programs have been carried out over the years. A detailed chronology of events for Project INSCOM CENTER LANE from 1977 to the present. An attempt has been made to include all key dates, but since this activity is not the Office of the Record for OACSl staff actions regarding authorizations, some key dates may have been inadvertently deleted. Paul H. Smith was involved in the drafting.

© CIA Library | published 1984/02/22

year Designation / project name Host
1971 first RV experiments Ingo Swann & Cleve Backster
1972 SRI “Magnetometer Experiment” | Biofeld Measurements Program SRI, Hal Puthoff & Ingo Swann,
CIA participates financially
1972 This year the term “remote viewing” was coined SRI
1973 SCANATE CIA
1977 GONDOLA WISH ACSI, Army Inscom
1978 GRILL FLAME Army Intelligence, move to Fort Meade
1983 INSCOM CENTER LANE Army Inscom, SRI
1985 DRAGOON ABSORB Army Inscom, DIA
1986 SUN STREAK SLIDE
1991 STAR GATE SLIDE
1995 CIA terminates the STAR GATE remote viewing program

Mit der Novellierung des „Freedom of Information Act“ von 1974 begann die schrittweise Veröffentlichung von Dokumenten staatlicher Behörden. Im Electronic Reading Room der CIA sind heute viele tausend Scans von geheimdienstlichen Unterlagen einsehbar. Zum Suchbegriff Remote Viewing finden sich dort mittlerweile über 2.400 Einträge (released 1997–2017, Stand 12/2020), die die Entwicklung, Erforschung und Anwendung der Methode sowie einzelne Session-Protokolle zeigen.

Die US-amerikanischen Bundesbehörden, darunter auch die CIA und später die DIA, beteiligten sich am Remote-Viewing-Projekt von 1972 bis 1995. In dieser Zeit wurde die Aktivität der kleinen Gruppe mit insgesamt 20 Millionen Dollar unterstützt, bevor man das Projekt nach über 24 Jahren offiziell mit einer eher fadenscheinigen Begründung einstellte. Danach wurden viele der ehemals geheimen Akten öffentlich zugänglich gemacht. Dass die Anwendung der Methode unterdessen in anderen geheimdienstlichen Projekten weitergeführt wird, nehmen wir an – offiziell gibt es dazu natürlich keinen Kommentar.

CRV | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: Kurze Zusammenfassung der Theorie des „Coordinate Remote Viewing“ (heute CRV-Protokoll) mit der damals üblichen Erklärung durch die Signallinien-Theorie.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 2000/08/08

Sun Streak | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: Protokoll einer beispielhaften RV-Session aus dem Stargate-Projekt

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 2000/08/08

Training Prozedur | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: 1986 berichtet G. Scott Hubbard, Professor für Aeronaiutik am Stanford Research Institute, über die Struktur, Konzept und Technik des Remote Viewing Protokolls.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 2000/08/10

Photon Production | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: Experimente in den Jahren 1985 bis 1987 untersuchten die Frage, ob beim Task-Vorgang physikalisch messbare Photonen produziert werden.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 2000/05/17

AIR Draft Reports | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: Mit dem Report des American Institute for Research (AIR) wurde im Jahr 1995 der offizielle Grund geliefert, das RV-Projekt zu beenden. Es wurden aber nur höchstens 1% der Akten zur Auswertung übergeben, der Rest ist bis heute unter Verschluss. Interessanterweise stellt der Report trotzdem fest, dass PSI wirksam ist.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 1995/09/22

SRI | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: Remote Viewing ist keine Einbahnstraße – eines der interessantesten Arbeitsbereiche im Projekt „Grill Flame“ ist die Erforschung von Tarnung und Gegenspionage auf PSI-Ebene.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 1998/06/18

Stargate | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: Protokolle wie diese beweisen, dass die Remote-Viewing Einheit (hier Projekt Stargate) tatsächlich großzügig finanziert worden sind.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 2004/08/31

Project Sun Streak | CIA Dokument

Download PDF: „Projekt Sun Streak“ ist einer der Namen, unter dem die Remote-Viewing-Erforschung im Laufe der Jahre lief. Die Präsentation zeigt Beispiele aus der Arbeit der Viewer und schließt mit der Empfehlung: „Establish Remote Viewing as a reliable Intelligence tool.“

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 1998/10/14

center lane a historical overview

Download PDF: „Projekt Center Lane“ ist ein weiterer Name, unter dem die Remote Viewing Programme im Laufe der Jahre ausgeführt worden sind. Eine detaillierte Chronologie der Ereignisse für das Projekt INSCOM CENTER LANE von 1977 bis heute. Es wurde versucht, alle wichtigen Daten einzubeziehen, aber da diese Aktivität nicht das Büro der Aufzeichnung für OACSl-Stabsaktionen bezüglich Genehmigungen ist, können einige Schlüsseldaten versehentlich gelöscht worden sein. Mit an der Ausarbeitung beteiligt war Paul H. Smith.

© CIA Library | veröffentlicht 1984/02/22

Jahr Bezeichnung/Projektnamen Host
1971 erste RV-Experimente Ingo Swann & Cleve Backster
1972 SRI „Magnetometer Experiment“ | Biofeld Measurements Program SRI, Hal Puthoff & Ingo Swann,
CIA beteiligt sich finanziell
1972  In diesem Jahr wurde der Begriff „Remote Viewing“ geprägt SRI
1973 SCANATE CIA
1977 GONDOLA WISH ACSI, Army Inscom
1978 GRILL FLAME Army Intelligence, Wechsel nach Fort Meade
1983 INSCOM CENTER LANE Army Inscom, SRI
1985 DRAGOON ABSORB Army Inscom, DIA
1986 SUN STREAK DIA
1991 STAR GATE DIA
1995 CIA beendet das STAR GATE Remote Viewing Programm